Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

With the emergence of globalization, in order to become global citizens, it is mandatory that youngsters need to be cognizant of more languages apart from their mother tongues. It is assumed that most English learners study this subject because of travelling or working abroad while others affirm that there are other factors that encourage individuals to research a new language. In my opinion, I tend to believe that the majority of citizens learn another language in order to secure a brighter future and I shall put forth some ideas to exemplify my point in the following paragraphs. To begin with, international languages such as English, Spanish or French have become ubiquitous and many students learn these subjects at an early age in order to prepare for their prospective education or careers abroad. It is pertinent that most of the developed nations such as Australia, England or Canada often require international students or overseas employees some English certificates before they can immigrate or work here. As a result, many commoners spend an enormous amount of time and effort to learn and prepare for these English exams. Moreover, in this technological era, the Internet has enabled global and remote collaboration among corporations. Eventually, it is beneficial for employees to master numerous languages to communicate effectively with international partners. On the other hand, there are also other reasons that encourage someone to pursue a new language. Personal hobbies or the curiosity of other cultures may motivate curious adolescents to start their journey of a linguistics career. Influences from movies or TV shows may also intrigue the interest of viewers to learn another language. In fact, it is not scarce that some students choose to learn Korean or Japanese because they have an affinity for gaining a deeper understanding of the cultures of these countries. Nevertheless, there are polyglots who are gifted and be able to absorb new languages easily and they have a strong interest in learning many languages around the world. In conclusion, while I am prone to the idea that numerous citizens learn popular languages such as English, Spanish or French because they make them become qualified for working and studying in another country, there are still ordinary people who choose to learn a specific language because of their interests.