Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In the contemporary era, crime is a serious problem, and there are many arguments on how to reduce the number of criminals. A range of individuals think that a longer period of prison sentences will solve this issue, meanwhile, their counterparts do not agree and argue that there are other better ways to reduce the crimes. Two aforementioned views will be discussed thoroughly in the following paragraphs before presenting my perspective in the conclusion. On the one hand, a variety of societies have a strong belief that the main purpose of being punished by longer jail will deter people from committing crimes. For instance, Queensland is a state in Australia where the rate of youth crimes is incredibly high. The Federal government passed a new law that charges children as young as ten subject to the same penalties as adults if they are being convicted. Previously, young offenders with convicted of murder were 10 years in jail, but the new rule punishes mandatory life detention with a non-parole period of 20 years. There was a positive consequence in 2022 when the young criminals hit their lowest rate in recorded history and have remained relatively steady. On the other hand, I and others have contrary thinking of substituting for punishment such as harsher supervision or sentence to death will decrease the crime rate. In my opinion as a taxed payer, the longer serious offenders are kept in prison, the more wasted tax of citizens pay. Instead of serving them behind the bars, they will be a great source of labour to contribute to the societies. For example, the violent and dangerous offenders who are under-supervised by the digital ankle chain will be placed in construction sites to assist the building companies or they could be working as farmers when the harvesting season comes. The preferred way is a sentence to death will show a powerful warning to any individual who is going to commit a crime. To conclude, although I acknowledge that longer imprisonment might be an effective punishment, I am of the opinion that strict supervision and death have forceful deterrents to hold people accountable for their actions.