Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

In developing countries, the number of residents is increasing at such an alarming rate that we need to look at hybrid crops to account for the rising demand for food. In this essay, we will look at some of the positive effects of such crops and also some of the negative aspects. The genetically altered crops are very useful. It increases the production capacity of the fields and is more profitable for the farmers. Moreover, this technology can be useful with seasonal plants. The changes to the genes can help growing vegetation in non-season months as well. This provides a surplus of staple grains and the developing nations can reduce their dependency on imports. For example, in Russia, the cold climate makes it unsuitable for growing tropical greens, but the use of the new way of farming helps Russia to cultivate rice which requires a lot of sunlight. Although, the yield increases, the resultant items are lacking in nutrients and tasty. The meal got from such plants will certainly fill stomachs but will lead to various diseases in the long run. Recently, a study conducted showed that most of the products made from genetically changed products don't add any nutritional value and contribute to a lot of diseases. One of my friends suffered from anaemia in his teenage years and one of the causes mentioned by the doctors was the foodstuff from hybrid produce. In conclusion, though there are some obvious plus points to using genetically modified vegetation, there are drawbacks and dangers that make us wonder if indeed we should use them.