Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

It is true that the overall desire to visit places with severe conditions like abandoned deserts or earth poles has mounted. I reckon there are equal numbers of pros and cons. On the one hand, this could bring some problems. First, these places are mostly out of the reach of humans and they have remained natural for centuries. Adventurers could make some mistakes. For example, they may leave waste behind themselves or use vehicles that could result in environmental destruction. Second, wild nature is unsafe for travellers. Natural disasters, beasts or terrible weather conditions are some examples of the potential threats that could make situations out of control. It is crystally clear that medical clinics are far away and first aid may not be practical too. Finally, the cultures of indigenous people who live in such areas could vanish after a while due to their vulnerability to the modern world. There were languages and dialects like Kormanji in the centre of Iran which is not spoken anymore by the arrival of Farsi. However, I believe that its positives cannot be neglected. There are a great number of companies whose businesses rely on visitors. Not only agents could profit from visitors, but also the local economy could be boosted too. E.g., native American tribes are dependent on travellers who buy their handicrafts. Moreover, challenging journeys appeal to a big portion of tourists who look for experiencing tough locations. Their enthusiasm could be answered under controlled conditions. Although, ecotourism has been founded to make a bridge between distant destinations and visitors. Their values are based on environmentally friendly adventures which are caring for both natural and cultural issues of modern tourism phenomena. In conclusion, I believe that with beneficial policies and rules the drawbacks of this new tourism could be handled and transformed to some advantages too.