Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, the number of people who want to meet friends through online platforms are increasing when compared to those who want to meet in person. In my opinion, this is a negative development as it increases isolation, potential risk in meeting new people as well as cause issues in later years of life. Earlier, people used to take effort to go out and meet their family and friends, for example: in cafes, bars, or restaurants. When families or friends used to meet up like this there were real communications, fun and frolic. Now that is not the case, people prefer to stay in their rooms and chat online, this leads to a lack of enthusiasm in meeting people outside their comfort zone. This lack of interaction and real conversations have created a havoc in many lives leading to depression and dejection. In addition to this, meeting new people online has many underlying risks. People assume fake identities and hide their true characteristics creating issues in many people ’s life, particularly in teenagers. Since they are easily impressionable, many of them fall into unforeseen traps. Furthermore, parents are not able to monitor the activities of their folks online, in order to protect them. Lastly, socializing online can end in difficulties years later as conversations and posts that has been forgotten reappear. As young adults are not very careful in what to be posted online, many intimate communications maybe posted which may resurface years later causing embarrassment later. In conclusion, although online socialization has been gaining popularity, especially in adolescents it is definitely not a positive trend.