It is often said “when is Rome, do as the Romans do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they are visiting? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

When visiting a country as a tourist, people should be open to following the place’s law or even an informal rule. As a visitor, learning some words in the local language would help to be welcoming, but it is not crucial to learn about the culture. To begin with, every country has its own procedure to be followed, so when visited It is recommended to be previously informed about people’s behaviour, for example. It is like when we are invited to go to someone’s house, where it is not allowed to smoke cigarettes. Besides your hobby, you cannot overcome people’s place rule. In this way, respecting each other place, the relationship can exist and we are allowed to travel as much as we desire. Nowadays, most of the touristic cities are prepared to receive people from everywhere. The signs in the city are usually translated to English since it is considered a universal language; there is information centres available and also agency tours to guide the visitor. Saying that the traveller does not necessarily need to speak the native language to be able to explore the culture. As an example, Mandarin is known as a very difficult language to learn for western countries, but it does not mean that it is not possible to visit China and experience their culture. To sum up, the travellers need to give respect and not be against to the visited country’s culture. However, it is not essential to know their language, as it is commonly possible to find information in English on the internet or even in the actual visit.