Many countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers?

Moving from the countries to urban regions has been a popular phenomenon in numerous nations of the world for several years. There are some reasons and impacts on the current local residents which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, the primary cause of relocation is the availability of numerous job opportunities in towns. Since in rural regions, jobs are mainly related to the agriculture sector, which is being mechanized, less workforce is needed. Next, a myriad of young people is not into farm work as they do not wish to do manual labour. They like to challenge themselves with more advanced and diversified careers. Since multiple high-tech companies are located in urban regions, people tend to move from their homeland to cities to pursue their dream professions. Furthermore, the payment in many industrial and financing regions is much higher than that of agricultural work. For instance, according to recent research, the salary in the banking sector on average is two times higher than that of the agricultural sector. Finally, the young generation wants to make a colossal change to their lives since they need to have a better future prospect for the next generation. Metropolis offers a full of opportunities and has improved infrastructure, health care service, and education facilities. There are two consequences stemmed from this phenomenon. Firstly, a growing number of people coming to the cities would place additional pressure on the current infrastructure. Overcrowding and traffic congestion would occur frequently which can easily be seen in plenty of cities like Bangkok, Hanoi, and Tokyo. The flux of migrants would also cause housing prices to accelerate. It is an inevitable consequence when the demand is becoming greater than the demand. On top of that, surplus people could result in more competition for the same job. To conclude, migration is an inevitable tendency that required the close collaboration of government, companies, and individuals. The government and local authorities should study and pay extra attention to this problem in order to rectify it.