Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

Most working individuals in recent times, have minimal physical activities throughout the working time as well as their leisure times which lead to health issues such as obesity and joint pains. Those who need to work for livelihood tend to lack in exercise mainly because of the nature of their job and sedentary lifestyle. This essay will further elucidate about these causes as well as solutions to counteract them. The main reason that contributes to working individuals not getting a moderate amount of movement is because a vast number of jobs these days are desk jobs which the staff is required to sit throughout the office hours attributing to one third of their day. To supplement, daily commute to work is also time consuming that at the end of the day employees are left with little time for themselves. To illustrate, according to the research by Coventry University, it is found that after deducting hours of sleeping, working and transportation, corporate employees only have around 5 hours of personal time. In addition, due to the sedentary lifestyle nowadays, people prefer to spend their pastime watching television or playing video games which involves minimal movement, hence, they lack adequate physical activity. Turning to solutions, there are a couple that both the companies and the individuals themselves can take. Firstly, companies could consider the well-being of their workers and arrange fitness classes at the end of office hours, for instance, bi-weekly classes of yoga, zumba or aerobics to prompt regular exercising. Another solution is for the working adults to be self-conscious and even if they cannot commit to serious training, add some exercise to their routine, for example, parking their car at a distance or regular stretching. To summarise, it is undeniable that human beings who must work for a living do not get sufficient exercise due to their employment type, not having ample time and modern lifestyle. Nonetheless, the effects of those problems can be ameliorated by the employers promoting exercising by arranging active classes and people taking charge to involve some form of workout in their daily routines.