Some believe that people will purchase a product based on their needs and advertising is not needed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether advertisement serves no real purpose has become progressively contentious as some argue necessity is a driving force for all purchases. In my opinion, while their viewpoints seem legitimate, adverts help consumers develop needs for novelty. On the one hand, the most frequently cited rationale for the unnecessary ads is that consumers understand their demands when it comes to shopping. This argument rests on the fact that advertising can be rather a nuisance than a motivator influencing people's buying behaviours. For example, this can be most apparently seen in myriad supermarkets, which organise a wide breadth of product launches that spontaneously disturb their shoppers with obsolete goods. Most supermarket-goers know their needs when they enter the store and attracting them with a list of sponsorship deals could make them annoyed and refuse to come back again. Thus, the accumulated evidence has reasoned why ads should be solely present when consumers reach out to them. On the other hand, albeit conceding that customers are often aware of what they want, I would still contend that advertising does not simply meet needs but creates them. To begin with, this is predicated based on the assumption that people can have more fulfilling lives with innovative products which would benefit them in their daily activities. For instance, one of the salient illustrations of this is often indicated in the advent of Apple products dating back 10 years ago, which has brought in the frenzy for electronics like smartphones, tablets and earphones. Had they not utilised the role of advertising, they would not have fostered their dominance in the market like today and the desire of the citizenry worldwide to become part of the Apple community. Therefore, marketing campaigns play a pivotal role in stimulating people's buying habits, providing high-quality products and services and improving the diversionary experience of consumers overall. In conclusion, whilst the use of adverts should be limited to a certain degree, it confers a valid standpoint as it does wonders for the shopping experience of the general populace. In my final thought, retailers and advertisers should jointly propose a more holistic approach in order to promote appropriate products that meet the authentic needs of buyers.