Some People Think That Internet Has Brought People Closer Together To what extent do you agree / disagree?

Nowadays, the internet has become prevalent in people ’s everyday lives. Most people are using smartphones and PCs to connect and use the internet for different deeds, from reading the news to sharing memorable moments with friends and families. It is true that some people count the internet as a facility that brings people closer. Nevertheless, I strongly disagree with this idea because I believe that by the advent of the internet, the connection between people altered in a way that brought people closer virtually, but farther physically. On the one hand, people are almost always online and join networks such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and plenty of other social media which lead to being aware of their acquaintances lively. They share photos, videos and thoughts nearly every hour. This pretends people to be closer than before comparing the times when they met their friends weekly or at least daily. For instance, you see the photos of your friend who is living abroad at the moment, while without internet, it could happen monthly at the best. However, In the past, when people got together, they talked to each other, told memories and spent their time together, but nowadays, when people gather physically, they socialize less and check their smartphones more than before the digital revolution. So, from this aspect, the internet has taken people apart. For example, I remember the times when I was a child, we used to meet our family every week and played group games with other children, whereas at the same parties, nowadays children just play with their phones and tablets instead of having fun with their counterparts. All in all, although the internet causes shortening of the distances between people, especially for those who live long distances, it makes people somewhat isolated and less social in actual communications. I recommend people to make a balance between virtual and real connections to keep a normal life.