International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

It is true that the global tourism industry can have both positive and negative impacts on people and places. However, I would argue that the positives far outweigh the negatives. On the one hand, international tourism can sometimes be detrimental to local residents and the natural environment in tourist areas. Locals may suffer as prices, for everything from property to goods and services, become hugely inflated. This is certainly the case in popular city destinations like London and Paris, where the high cost of living means that many residents are forced to move out to the suburbs. Wild animals may also be pushed out of their natural habitats by tourism. For example, tourists from across the world visit the Hawaiian Islands to go whale watching, but these boat trips have been linked with a decline in native dolphin populations. However, I believe that the advantages of global tourism more than compensate for the problems described above. Tourists who are able to afford overseas holidays tend to spend significant amounts of money on goods and services, such as food, accommodation and entertainment. This activity creates employment opportunities for local residents, who are likely to see their quality of life improve rather than decline. With regard to the environment, the revenue from visitors can be used to protect wild animals and areas of natural beauty. This is what happens in countries like Kenya, where the income from safari tourism funds various national parks, nature reserves and a wildlife protection service. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential benefits of international tourism are much more significant than the drawbacks.