In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic congestion is a serious problem in many countries of the world. The number of cars is increasing so rapidly; thus, some people assert that government should impose a severe tax on car proprietors and spent the money to ameliorate public transport. Nevertheless, it has both pros and cons. Personally, I am in favour of the latter view. In the following paragraphs, I will give reasons for my statement. To start with, collection of huge tax from car holders will impose extra burden for them as well as discourage new owners from buying a new car. Evidently, this would create a great impact on the automobile industry. As a matter of fact, their sales will decrease; thus, it would bring down upward economic trend forcefully. Even so, there are more negative impacts on the automobile industry. For example, millions of people related to this industry will be unemployed. Furthermore, riding a car would only be the rich people ’s desire. The middle class, as well as lower-middle-class people, would not be able to buy a car anymore. Another close examination would reveal that no one can ensure that imposing a high tax would refrain rich people from buying a new car. Consequently, levying high taxes would not bring any solution to traffic congestion. On the other hand, some arguments can be made that levying high taxes can lessen traffic congestion; therefore, the money could be used in developing public transport. For instance, when there is reduced traffic congestion, air pollution would reduce to a great extent. To add, fewer cars means less greenhouse gas which will lead to a clean environment. In summary, I would concede that although this solution may result in a safer environment and better transport systems, it may impact severely on different aspects. However, the government should look for imposing a balanced tax as such no problem would be faced by all sectors. Having considered both views, the government should consider all these factors