Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People assume that scientific research must be monitored by the government instead of private institutions. Personally, I share the same view with this statement for the reasons outlined below. Many reasons may clarify the essential part of government's role in controlling scientific research. First of all, various research activities are carried out by private companies such as pharmaceutical companies to produce a new remedy for a given disease. This resulted in a monopoly claim to a single company's medicines for economic purposes without benefiting public health. So in this case, the government should implement policies such as allowing the company to produce and sell drugs for a term as well as adjusting drug prices in the market. Thus, this medicine is affordable for the people. Moreover, many government -funded scientific research projects are derived from public money such as taxes. The government must ensure that this study is not a waste of money and can have beneficial effects on society. Moreover, many scientific studies involve humans as objects. For this, the government should apply a strict regulation to protect and ensure that there are no human rights violations and no negative consequences caused by the process. In summary, I believe that the role of government in controlling scientific research is essential to ensure that all research purposes are fully beneficial to the community.