Some people think that excessive use of smartphones badly affects teenagers' literacy skills. Do you agree or disagree?

There is increasing concern that cutting-edge technologies badly influence teenagers’ ability to write clear and grammatically. They claim that using smartphones discourages teens from writing right. I completely agree with this view, and in this essay, I will discuss my opinion. It is obvious that mobile phones help our children get any information very quickly compared with last times when we had to go to libraries to get the necessary material. Nowadays we can find any grammatical rule immediately on the internet, for example, any synonym for essay writing. However, this tendency has also different negative consequences, such as lack of concentration on the main important core of information and literacy. It is well known that smartphones are very sophisticated phones that have many advanced functions including a spelling checker. Therefore, adolescents use this convenient function and do not try to remember a spelling accuracy of a word. Moreover, teens usually use their phones for chatting in messengers where they mainly use abbreviations of words and slang. This could lead to a lack of literacy and inability to articulate their thoughts and ideas clearly. Finally, our children spend too much time on games and social networks and as a result, they do not like reading books outside of the school programs. To sum up, as can be seen from the points made in this essay, the advanced devices could be helpful to the development of adolescents as well as harmful to them. I am convinced that nowadays teenagers are less literate than in the past when teens had more time for reading books instead of chatting on Facebook.