many small shops are closing as they are unable to compete with supermarkets in the area. How does this effect the local communities? how could the situation be improved?

Because of the competition given by supermarkets, numerous local shops have been shutting down in the locality. Consequently, buying options for the local people have been reduced. Nevertheless, the government can curb the issue by supporting these shopkeepers. The coming paragraphs will shed a light on this context further. First and foremost, as the conventional shopkeepers are not being able to cope with the challenge given by supermarkets, these shops are being closed by them and thus the purchasing options available for the local buyers in the area have been reducing considerably. In other words, they have to be dependent on supermarkets even for their day to day purchasing needs which kills their lots of time. For example, folks in some of these areas have to look for supermarkets even to purchase milk & dairy products, foodgrains, etc. which waste their time. Despite it is a huge problem nowadays, it could be mitigated if the bureaucrats provide support to the local sellers. The authority can give them subsidies and also can help them by tax assumptions so that their cost of products can be reduced and make them survive in such competitive markets. For instance, a 25% increase in small shops had been noticed in Delhi last year after the Delhi government announced Rs. 20000 subsidy to the local sellers. In conclusion, although there has been an exorbitant effect on societies due to consistent decline in local shops, the situation can be resolved easily if the authority take immediate actions and provide essential support to these sellers in order to make them survive in the competitive world.