Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion should be the main function of a university?

Opinions are divided as to whether the main responsibility of universities is to offer working skills and knowledge. Despite the fact that there are some benefits of doing this for their students, I strongly believe that students should be independent to learn depending on their aims. There are some reasons why I argue against allowing mainly knowledge and necessary skills in the workplace of institutions. Firstly, everyone who needs to further their education has the right to learn any field they want. The universities have no rights to take it from them since studying at the universities is known as being autonomous learning. Moreover, nobody aims at assimilating knowledge in the same curriculum and it means why learning to be a good manager is not a choice of everybody properly. For example, those who dream to be scientists or historicists, it would be a waste of time if every university provides mainly workplace skills which are less important for them to study. However, it does not mean that there are no advantages to learning essential work skills and information to enter the highly competitive labour market in this modern world. It is undeniable that students who have an in-depth knowledge about how to stand out from other candidates, the possibility of getting an ideal job is likely to be. Additionally, these crucial skills are considered as very different from learning in a classroom. It is not only how to be a productive and appropriate manager but also keep you going on good performance all work time. For instance, either postgraduates or graduates who have learned a sense of teamwork or how to coordinate with various colleagues effectively, It would be more likely to gain lots of benefits in the workplaces. In conclusion, I can understand why institutions should facilitate teaching knowledge and skills needed in working, but it seems to me that the main duty of the universities could be more efficient if allowing their students to learn depends on their own sakes.