many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. do you agree or disagree?

Health problems caused by sugary products could be one of the most concerning issues in our modern society. There is a claim which indicates that products with artificial sweeteners must be over-priced so few people purchase them. I personally disagree with this statement. To begin with, it must be pointed out that eliminating such an issue by only increasing the cost of those products will not do anyone any good. Suppose someone who is addicted to energy drinks, if the prices are not affordable for him, would easily substitute that product with a cheaper but yet as sweet as the former one. Hence, serious actions must be taken. One of which could be using natural sweeteners instead of artificial ones. For instance, some companies commenced making sodas with less sugar and more natural syrups. Additionally, it cannot be overlooked that not all companies will agree with the strategy of lowering the prices. Not only might that threaten their business, but it also may make them go bankrupt. Furthermore, in order to guarantee these enterprises' net income and benefit, governments can offer them support. To make it more tangible, we could talk about a swiss chocolate factory which uses dates and figs to sweeten their products and the government gives this company an extra bonus for advertising their products. To sum up, it is true that health issues are serious and actions must be taken towards them, but it must not be forgotten that those ways should be practical. Although increasing the prices might be the most convenient action to take, it will not have long-term consequences and will wear off soon after it is applied.