Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

There are a variety of causes resulting in the increase of the crime rate annually. Even so, they can be solved by taking accurate measures. The problem and its tackle are shown in this essay. The increasing crime rate may be caused by some main factors. One of the prominent reasons concerning this problem is the rising unemployment rate, which is a disturbing and widespread phenomenon within the youth. Lacking skills and knowledge to meet the needs of employers makes citizens be easily eliminated from the fiercely competitive labour market. As a result, they have the propensity for an easier option to commit crime to earn money to maintain their life. Besides, insufficiently stringent punishments contribute to worsen this issue. Criminals ’ are too difficult to be threatened by those laws and they still do illegal activities. For instance, it is because the indiffirent attitude toward rapists of Indian government that rape criminals in this country increasing to alarming situation. However, some imperative measures ought to be taken to resolve these issues. The government should invest in the education system - which prevents criminal status in the future. Educating citizens, especially when they are young students, supplies people with a high awareness and prehension about laws, hence, they restrict illegal activities. In addition, imposing heavier punishments on criminals is highly suggested to tackle this issue. Harsh punishments as death penalty, make criminals falter when they intend committing crime. Therefore, they will find a legal job to change their situation. From 2015 onwards, after tightening gun laws and educating teenagers about guns, Sweden was in the top ten safest nations worldwide despite a high number of death cases via gun criminals in the past. In conclusion, there are indeed various repercussions regarding the increasing crime rate, however, they can be solved by sustainable solutions.