‘The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools.’ How far do you agree with this prediction?

One fact which I believe to be absolutely pivotal is the fact that with the advancement of technology the internet is becoming essential at every aspect. Scholars are finding digital learning convenient and a vital source of information. This essay will discuss the reasons for it and share the importance of traditional books over the internet. However, I completely agree with the above statement that traditional books will never be replaced by the internet. On the one hand, course books whether conventional or digital are designed by experts which is incorporated with the subject syllabus and leading to testing procedures such as, internal assessments, formal examination, etcetera. Moreover, they are proven to enhance scholars academic performance and increase their potential for the progression to higher studies. To exemplify, a hard copy of the classic book ' The four P's of Marketing' is still recommended for business studies students despite abundant information available on the internet. Therefore,traditional books will always remain a necessary part of scholars curriculum. On the other hand, the internet can play a useful part to excel scholars knowledge as it provides access to vast range of information. Furthermore, it makes lessons less teacher lead and more autonomous learning. This will teach children more self-learning compared to the old rote-learning procedures. For instance, distance learning is one of its examples. By contrast, it should be used under the supervision of adult as children do not have skills to discriminate between source and sift information to marshal their facts. To conclude, Although the internet is an vital source of information, but children should use it as a guided-learning process not as an exercise of data gathering. Nevertheless, the material and quality of the course books always remain as an integral part of their syllabus. The internet can be judged a useful supplement to this, if used carefully and under supervision.