Write about the advantages and disadvantages of zoos

While zoos may be a paradise for animals with prepared meals and preferable weather conditions, they, in contrast, may be a prison for wildlife, lacking freedom and nature. Along with the process of urbanization, zoos appear in significant numbers in and out of metropolises. This essay will describe zoos as a preservation sites and as a confined boxes. First and foremost, zoos may be used as a home to endangered species. A species earns the title of “endangered” when hunted to extinction and life-threatening levels by human beings. Only a few of their kind will exist on this planet, susceptible to even their natural predators. That is why zoos act as a shelter for these animals. There they are fed, taken care of, and protected round-the-clock. Accommodation will be provided for them until their fertility rate has stabilized and they are self-sustainable enough to return to their natural habitats. On the other hand, zoos are often viewed as unnatural habitats for animals to live in. Imagine being caged, locked away from the outside world, and living in a closed, unfamiliar, and unsanitary place for the rest of your life and generations to come. These boxes prevent natural growth in animals since they cannot provide the same environment where they live. These species will slowly become inactive and attached to a manmade environment, so much so that they will either die alone in their prison or be unable to assimilate into their natural habitat again. In short, zoos should only be used with the sole purpose of aiding in protecting and preserving endangered species. They should not be used as mere destinations for human entertainment. Instead of expanding zoos, we should focus on rebuilding the habitats people took away from them and illegalizing overhunting.