People are living in a ‘throwaway society,’ using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

Throwaway society has become prevalent these days as people tend to use their things for a short time and leave them easily. In this essay, both the causes and problems of this matter will be outlined before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, there are several causes that make the throwaway trend become mainstream. Firstly, people now value fashion more than in the past. They are fanatical about dressing fashionably in order to take photos. In consequence, individuals like to dump those used outfits and purchase new ones. Secondly, the development of technology is developing rapidly. Youngsters, who get bored easily, often change their belongings such as smartphones because they want to stay updated. For instance, Apple always releases a new version of iPhone every year, which in turn, the new generations want to follow the trend and buy their new mobile phones. Additionally, a throwaway society leads to many effects. In the first place, it wreaks havoc on the ecosystem. There are several problems such as deforestation to collect logs dramatically increases in order to make furniture or ornaments. In the second place, because of the rising of excessive amount of litter in communities, it affects the health of people who live near landfills. Communities around that area encounter air pollution. Furthermore, This pollution affects dwellers' health directly by giving them problems, namely, respiratory system and an eyesore. All in all, there are many reasons for a throwaway society and it leads to some negative consequences for our communities.