Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate between those who state that watching movies on our portable devices serves the same purpose as watching at the cinema and those who argue that to get the most out of a movie, people should watch at a cinema. Undoubtedly there are notable points from both side of the argument which will be elucidated further along with my personal opinion. Firstly, commentators who believe that accessibility of movies on personal devices eliminates the necessity for a theatre visit points to the immense efficiency derived from it. To supplement, one can save money, and time due to the privilege of avoiding the queue for ticket and transportation. A further argument is that the same film can be enjoyed at the convenience of people’s homes or any place of their preference. For instance, some like to watch films on the commute to kill time. On the contrary, supporters of viewing films at the theatres state that the audience get to experience the quality sound systems and the motions on a big screen which one cannot obtain from watching at home. In addition, individuals can enjoy the film with a company whether be friends or families as an activity for bonding. Lastly, those who watch the latest blockbusters at a cinema are one of the first few fractions of people to see it whereas online audiences are required to wait a certain period of time. Especially Marvel and Disney movies, for example, are very hyped by fans which is why many opt to see it at the theatres. To conclude, the privileges of the viewability of films from our mobile devices are not to be ignored. Nonetheless, I presume that stronger arguments are in favour of those who support watching films at the theatre as one can benefit from the high-quality visual and sound, appreciate the valuable time with loved ones and can be one of the first to view their favourite movie.