Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, the global has dramatically changed in many aspects, especially the traditional industries, the way of working, and human beliefs. The belief in each generation has been transformed to align with the world's changes, especially the millennials generation. Nowadays, many people decide to be self-employed, rather than being an employee in any organisation. This essay will explain why society might be the case and the drawbacks of being self-employed, described in various supporting reasons. Firstly, when youngers have a new innovative idea, they explore and build it up by themselves, starting from zero. To be self-employed gives freedom of thought rather than working in the company. For example, inhabitants were accustomed to waiting for a taxi at the taxi station in the past. People invented mobile applications such as Bolt, Grab Taxi; however, people can reserve a taxi by using mobile applications nowadays. Remarkably, citizens who invent explorations, research, and innovations bring new fantastic ideas to our world. However, the traditional organisations having people in the older generation, especially baby boomers, could not self-changes simultaneously. Consequently, the youngers decide to run their businesses and be self-employed with high competency to speed up and follow the technology's movement with freedom in thoughts and own business practices. Moving to the drawbacks of being self-employed, the youngers might not have professional experiences as people who work in the big corporate companies. For instance, an employee working in a large corporate company has valuable experiences with professional methodologies, learning management systems, and up-skilling practices and can coordinate with other departments, even outside the organisation. Moreover, career security could be at the highest risk because their new ideas might not hit the market and eventually fail. Unquestionably, the negative impact on their life is no financial stability. In conclusion, the thought of self-employed has come together with global change in traditional industries, and new generation thought. Most of the youngers have invented new beliefs to run their own business and be self-employed. Nonetheless, this viewpoint has several disadvantages, especially their valuable experiences in organisations, job security and financial steadiness.