37.Some people argue that parents of children who break the law should be punished in some way, because they are responsible for their children’s actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent years have witnessed a significant increase in the youth crime rate, causing widespread concern among the public. Under such circumstances, some contend that parents should be responsible or even punished for their children's actions. Personally, I hold a different perspective on this opinion and I believe that teenage lawbreakers should take all accountability for their offences. On the one hand, the idea that parents should be responsible for youngsters' malpractices is grounded in certain valid points. The proponents of this perspective argue that parents can serve as role models in shaping their kids' characteristics and behaviour. In fact, young children are likely to unconsciously imitate their parent's words and actions through a set of internal and external interactions. Therefore, whether a child has a good personality and proper attitude mostly depends on the parent's background. For example, a statistical report from the Canadian National Crime Prevention Crime revealed that individuals from families with a lack of order and discipline were 1.5 times more at risk of committing criminal activities than those from structured households. On the other hand, I do believe that lawbreakers themselves, not their parents, should be punished to ensure a justice system that is based on fairness and criminal deterrence. Firstly, it is unfair for the community if offenders can escape legal punishment and continue their normal lives despite harming society. In fact, punishment is to let them understand the price of their actions and prevent potential crimes in the future. Furthermore, if parents take all responsibility for their children's misconduct, it can create misleading impacts on children. They might understand that whatever unlawful actions they commit, they will not be bothered. Secondly, threats of being punished may prevent the risk of other teenagers committing anti-social behaviour, thus making society a safer and more peaceful place. In conclusion, although parents may play a part in their children's wrongdoings, they should not take a part or major responsibility for this. I firmly believe that all lawbreakers, regardless of how old they are, should be punished to ensure the fairness of the legal system and prevent the potential increase in the youth crime rate.