Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

Overpopulation is becoming an increasing concern for many developed countries. Some people believe that more housing should be created in the cities, whilst others believe the construction of such condos needs to be done in the countryside. However, the former seems to be the more productive way forward than the latter. Overcrowding is becoming a major issue, for densely populated countries like India and China and the elected officials need to find ways to provide alternate shelter arrangements for the growing demand. It would be easier for people to meet their daily requirements for work, school, as well as hospital requirements as these facilities, are all centred in the city, thereby reducing the reliance on the various transportation modes available. An example of this would be in Dubai, where the government has created a housing colony situated close to schools, hospitals and the local bus and metro stations are also close by. In addition to this, this housing complex has its own facilities to meet the needs of the tenants for their daily provisions. Moreover, creating more dwellings in the metropolitan areas will reduce the effect of deforestation in the countryside, allowing farmers to carry out their daily tasks without interference from city life. Although it would be beneficial to extend the establishment of condos to the countryside s it will provide more space for the residents, it cannot be ignored that the countryside is also a well-established location for holiday goers escaping the drab of city life. For example, in Mumbai, rather than extending the building of apartments into the countryside, the government has instead focused on creating more housing provisions in the city itself, so as to avoid taxing the countryside. To sum up, although the overpopulation is causing serious problems for cities, it is important for the government to increase the residential apartments in the city itself rather than extending to the countryside, as it is important to keep in mind the facilities to be made accessible to the residents as well as providing improved health and maintaining a good ecological balance.