Some scientist thinks that there are intelligent life forms on other planets and messages should be sent to contact them. Other scientists think it is a bad idea and would be dangerous. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The scientific community is divided on the topic of whether we should try and contact extra-terrestrial life forms. Some are for the notion, whilst others are against it. However, in my opinion, I feel that we should try and contact them, as this will help us in making massive discoveries in the name of science. I shall substantiate my reasons in this essay. On one hand, they could possess the technology, which is way more advanced in comparison to ours, and also, they might have more knowledge on other planets which would help us to decide which ones are habitable. In other words, contacting the extra-terrestrials will help us understand the complexities of the galaxies and the universe. To illustrate, a recent report published by NASA claimed that information about the existence of other creatures will be the key to decide if the other planets will be suitable to be inhabited by humans. Alternately, people believe that since we do have no knowledge of these extra-terrestrial forms, any communication with them could be seen from their end, as a provocation, which may lead them to attack, and as we suspect their technology to be highly advanced, we would not be able to survive such a battle. However, since these are just theories, no conclusions can be made in this regard. In conclusion, although they are varying opinions on whether we need to contact extraterrestrial beings, I feel that attempts should be made to contact them, because if we lead to the advancements in science, and we will get a better understanding of the galaxies around us.