Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Many people nowadays decide to let their parents living in nursing homes because of their incapableness in taking care of the elderly. Although it is important to keep these places available, whether they are good or not is a debatable question. This essay will present some reasons to indicate the merits and demerits of care houses. There are many things that can be considered beneficial when mentioning nursing homes. Firstly, many old people are suffering from loneliness, especially when they have lost their lifetime partner. Since their children have their own lives and have their own families to raise, it is irrefutable that the elderly have to spend most of their time alone and it can easily lead to depression. Nursing houses provide the solution for this problem, where seniors will have the ability to share their thoughts with their new friends, who possibly have the same age, thus feeling less lonely. Secondly, because of the old age, elderly citizens might have many serious health diseases, therefore, without the constant care from doctors of these institutions, there is a high chance that these health issues get worse and cause fatal conditions. Conversely, there are also many disadvantages of care homes. The biggest issue is the lack of emotional attachment between family members. Since many people decide to bring their parents into these institutions because they do not have enough time to take care of them, it is extremely difficult for them to visit their parents, not to mention bringing their children to these nursing homes. Therefore, family members might lose the necessary connection and might lead to the ignorance of future generations. The other problem that should be taken into considerations is the cost of these services. For instance, in Vietnam, the monthly payment for care homes is often high to have decent services, thus, low-incomers may not be able to live in these nursing foundations. In essence, although this trend has both its own benefits and downsides, it seems reasonable to assume that old people want to remain in a close relationship with their family members, and thus family should decide what is best for them.