In the past when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It is interesting how back then people commonly choose to pursue their higher education locally, but nowadays many have the option to study overseas instead. From the students’ point of view, studying in a foreign country has extensive benefits from gaining proper education in their chosen field to learning how to adapt in a culturally diverse society. However, there are observable drawbacks as well such as the huge tuition and accommodation fee to begin with, and how to tough it may be to be away from the comfort of their homes. This essay will discuss the aforementioned gains and losses of studying overseas. The first advantage of pursuing education in another country is that one can enhance their social skills by exposing themselves to people with various backgrounds. This means that they have to continuously interact with those of different cultures, languages and even religions. Eventually, individuals develop communication skills which is essential to many aspects in life. Secondly, it is reasonable that individuals would want to pursue education in promising places where the experts of the field are located. For instance, the best but also highly selective fashion schools are located in Paris, France or Milan, Italy as these two cities is home to leading fashion brands like Chanel and Versace. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to be considered before deciding to study abroad. It is believed that learning in foreign schools may impose huge financial pressure to the students and their family. Moreover, on top of the sky-high tuition fees, pupils have to cover costs for accommodation, food and transportation which sometimes require them to work while studying. Not only that, being far from their loved ones will also add pressure to their emotional health and made the majority of international students feeling homesick. Thus, the tough conditions may be detrimental to the young adults. As an illustration, during the COVID-19 pandemic in Australia, 60% of the calls received by the Suicide Helpline are from international students who cannot cope with being homesick and not able to earn money to cover their needs. In conclusion, as more opportunities for tertiary education outside our respective homeland arise, there are pros and cons that needed to be taken into consideration before deciding. While the majority may opt to study abroad for the development of social skills and enrich knowledge in their chosen field, the challenges of being financially pressured while being outside of their comfortable homes may impact their mental health adversely.