Some people say it is important to keep your home and your workplace tidy, what everything organized and in the correct place. What is your opinion about this?

The environment and the spaces that people occupy have many influences on their lives and it is argued by some commentators that maintaining the tidiness of one’s office and residential area is integral. I wholeheartedly agree with this notion because from it, there are many benefits individuals can derive which will be further elucidated with appropriate examples. Firstly, proper allocation of a person’s belongings especially daily use items can result in enhanced productivity. To further explain, since every item is in order, it eliminates the time spent in searching for something, hence, more efficient. Another factor is that the aesthetics of organized and clean surroundings is healthy and instrumental for people’s thinking capacity. For example, according to a research article from Coventry University, it is found that a staff occupying a messy cubicle tends to get more frustrated and underperform compared to someone who keep his neat and tidy. Lastly, a well-sorted out living and working spaces can obtain good impressions from coworkers and guests. Those who visit would feel more welcomed and comfortable in a room with a presentable display. Although admittedly, it is also true that not having things in order does not impose any life-threatening risks. A person’s personality or work performance cannot be deduced from the condition and arrangements of his office desk or apartment. For instance, one may simply be overloaded with work or chores to spare time for tidying his belongings. To summarise, in spite of the fact that there are no harms from the absence of it, I believe that organising the spaces that one occupies have some remarkable advantages as people can gain better performance, a clearer mind and obtain acknowledgement from others.