In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in the water, so many people think they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

he use of plastic bags has been a heated debate and has been highlighted on various media platforms. Single-use plastics are the main cause of pollution of water resources and landfill sites. Therefore it is the general opinion of many people that plastic should be completely banned. I completely agree with the notion of introducing a complete ban on non-biodegradable plastic. Plastic is the most abundant packing material and is easily available. Due to the easy availability and affordability its not appropriately discarded. Moreover, even if it is properly discarded at times the animals which scavenge for bits of rubbish tend to ingest the single-use plastic which cannot be digested and is a health hazard. In a recent survey by One Green Planet over one million birds and marine animals were dead due to the blockage of their digestive system by plastic. If a ban is enforced this will further minimize the effect on the animals and reduce the mortality due to plastic consumption. While banning plastic alone will not resolve the problem as the source of single-use plastic should be identified. The companies which manufacture non-biodegradable plastic should be fined a hefty tax and the number of units of plastic bags produced by such companies should be monitored. A recent survey by economic times has highlighted that introducing a plastic tax could help the government generate revenue for setting up factories for the manufacture of alternatives to plastic bags. Thus, as a result of banning plastic, the government can find alternative eco-friendly carry bags which would benefit the environment in the long run. In conclusion, along with banning plastic the production of single-use plastics should be targeted and taxed which will further lessen the impact on various flora and fauna. With the non-availability of plastic alternative materials can be made widely available by the government.