Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governemnts to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling waste is one the efficient methods in mitigating the air and water pollution. While most people voluntarily recycle their garbage, there are some people who believe that the government should make it mandatory for everyone to increase the amount of waste recycled. I completely agree that the goverment should pass a law to make recycling necessary, this will automatically reduce the air and water pollution and also provide jobs in recycling industry. Recreating the products from junk improves the air and water quality significantly. It is evident that one of common process that is employed by the municipal yards to get rid of scrap is to burn it and also release it into the nearest water resources such as lakes, rivers etc. A recent study from the Harvard University concluded that above methodologies implemented to dispose the filth diminished the air quality by 15% and water quality by 22%. Study also determined that considerable amount of people got sick by consuming the fish from the rivers and the seas where the garbage is released. So it is certain that reusing the scrap benefits the environment and humans in every possible way. By enforcing the recycling as a duty that every citizen has to observe, government also open doors for increase in job oppurtinites. Reusing the waste and creating the products from it requires huge amount of labour considering the amount that has been producted over the last decade. Companies such as pepsico Pepsico, samsung established massive industrial plants to recycle the junk. In conclusion, making the recycling mandatory is the obvious step to be taken to reduce the garbage. Not only there are environmental benefits from it but there is also a massive oppurtinity for economic growth. I think the government should make recycling into a mandatory duty for everyone and also should take responsiblity to spread awareness around it.