Everybody should be allowed admission to university study programs, regardless of their level of academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the given statement.

Certain individuals argue that all students should have the opportunity to study in universities irrespective of their knowledge and skills. I am disagreeing with the proposed notion because certain university programmes require students to demonstrate a certain level of intellectual capacity. In addition, most academic courses often have limited seats. To begin, in order to follow some university programmes, students need to have a certain level of academic abilities. A student who is not capable of learning a specific subject will not benefit from joining it. For example, an individual who has no natural ability for medicine or engineering will not benefit from joining an engineering college or medical college. However, if they do, they will not be able to learn the scientific concepts or put them into practice. As a result it will be a waste of valuable resources. In addition, the majority of academic courses often have limited seats, hence, all applicants cannot be admitted. Unlikely the schools, universities or higher education institutes are for specialized learning. Therefore, universities use certain selection criteria such as academic qualifications of students and other skills to decide the eligibility for admission. For instance, due to the limited number of seats available, meritorious students will miss the opportunity to enter into good universities or advance courses, if universities do not consider the academic qualifications of students prior to offering a seat in their respective courses. As a consequence, it is essential to evaluate the academic abilities and skills of students before allowing them to enter into academic programmes. To sum up, if a student joins a course in which he or she is not capable of understanding the theories or concepts, it will be a waste of time and money. Further, it will not benefit either him or society. Moreover, meritorious students will miss the opportunity to enter into good academic courses even though they have the ability to perform well in those due to limited places available if all students are given admission regardless of their academic qualifications. Therefore, in my,opinion admission to universities should be based on the academic credentials of the students.