You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Write at least 250 words.

With the advent of social media applications, a lot of people now communicate with each other online and stay up-to-date with the latest news from all around the world. The advantages of social media, which provide immediate access to vital global information and connects communities around the world, outweigh its disadvantages. First, social media is a useful assistant for immediate global news awareness and the storage of necessary data for further use. An enormously large amount of digital information appearing daily in the global Wild Web is impossible to manage manually. As clear evidence of the popularity of social media around the world, we can provide statistics. Facebook, Instagram, Telegram, WhatsApp, and LinkedIn count their followers by billions. Secondly, social media enables global communication, overcoming distance. A contemporary world diminishes worldwide borders. Thousands of people change their permanent place of residence and relocate to other countries to pursue their academic, professional, and personal ambitions. Social media usually connects these types of residents with their close contacts, despite distances around the world. One obvious negative effect of social media is weak interpersonal relationships. People ’s conversation substitutes social media. In our modern world, it would be 'harder to find hen's teeth' than to find people free of social media. Even close relatives or friends sharing the same living space prefer the remote exchange of messages to direct conversation. The situation is so severe that one sometimes may witness a couple sitting at the same table and chatting with each other via social media instead of a natural, direct conversation. Another disadvantage of using social platforms is that the spread of misinformation can misinform and endanger communities. According to Pareto's principle, 80 by 20 or around 20 per cent of information may require a person to search for 80 per cent of the necessary information. This means that without the ability to do critical reading, people can be sunk or misled by biased advice overloaded in the social media landscape. The ability to search and promptly find valid material requires good reading and analytical skills, which social media platforms don’t promote among their users, unfortunately. Overall, the benefits for people choosing social media, such as immediate access to vital global news and connecting communities around the world despite distance, outweigh the drawbacks such as traditional forms of communication and junk information that the Internet is littered with.