Having more money and less free time is better than earning less money and having more free time. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

In our contemporary world, many people go through the dilemma of working more to ensure their financial stability or having leisure time. A segment of society is convinced that having financial freedom is better than having more free time. Others, however, believe the opposite. In my opinion, people should not sacrifice their free time to earn more money. The following paragraphs will analyze both approaches and explain my opinion in detail. The proponents of prioritising income believe that this way they can have a more luxurious lifestyle financially affording anything they or their families want. Undoubtedly, families of these groups of individuals benefit by being provided with quality education and healthcare facilities. As a result, children will have more chances to be successful in the future. Nonetheless, these people compromise their own quality of life for monetary benefits which in turn can lead to mental and physical issues. For instance, there is a clear link between hard work and a high rate of suicides in Japan. On the other hand, people who can balance their leisure activities and work benefit by having more fulfilling lives. Although these people are more financially limited, in the long run, they feel happier and their families feel more affection. Subsequently, their children and partners will be mentally sound. It is necessary for people to unwind their minds with, for example, their friends or families. Moreover, I believe that salary should be enough to only ensure modest comfort and basic needs. Accumulating wealth or purchasing unnecessary stuff cannot make individuals feel truly happy. To conclude, constant work can cause physical and mental issues sooner or later, thus, compromising money over free time is a wrong approach to life. Individuals should try to strike a work and life balance.