Nowadays, it is more convenient and easier for people to travel to other countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, cross-border travelling for people has become easier than ever before. Travelling helps us to acquire knowledge and discover new things and ideas. Though convenient means of travel brings the people closer, it does have some downsides. Our society has witnessed enormous growth and development in the field of transport. Nowadays, travelling is cheaper and more comfortable and this allows us to see and experience different cultures more closely. Consequently, we are able to gain knowledge of other people. Travelling exposes people to differences in lifestyle, clothing, languages and food habits and convinces them that difference is perfectly normal. This makes people more tolerant. Travelling is also a great way for people to forget the banality of their mundane existence. It rejuvenates their mind and helps them recharge their batteries. Traveling also creates a lot of opportunities in the hospitality sector. On the other hand, the rise in travelling does have some downsides. The main problem is that travelling, especially flying, is bad for the environment. Travellers may also introduce new diseases to a place. For example, travellers often visit places where tribal people live. These people are not familiar with the viruses and bacteria affecting people in cities and towns. During their visit, they may introduce these pathogens to them and they can be fatal for them. Conflicts between travellers and locals are another issue. In short, the ease of travelling has certainly enabled more and more people to visit various places and learn about them. However, an increase in travelling also has consequences for the environment and it could even promote the spread of contagious diseases. Hence, in my opinion, travelling has both positive and negative aspects in equal measure.