Many researchers believe that we can now study the behavior of children to see if they will grow up to be criminals. To what extend do you think crime is determined by genetics? Is it possible to stop children from growing up to be criminals?

According to many scientists, it is now possible to predict if children will become criminals when they grow up. They believe, genetics plays an important role in children turning to crimes. It is a big misconception and it is possible to stop them from becoming criminals. It is impossible to guess if anyone will become a criminal just by seeing the family roots. Although, genetics can be used to predict different features of a person like appearance, diseases, talents, and sometimes even behavior. However, this doesn't necessarily mean that we can determine the exact future of someone. For example, a person named "Chris Gardener" in New York who comes from a poor background and has criminal parents became one of the most successful stock brokers. In fact, there is also a feature film "Pursuit of Happiness" which is based on his struggles in life. Children can be stopped from becoming criminals. The factors which plays a major role in children going down the wrong path are illiteracy, poverty, ignorance, and bad influence. Many of these factors could be eliminated by taking proper steps by government to educate people about law and order. There should also be a guidance counsellor appointed in every school with whom children can share and discuss all kinds of problems. For instance, there were many cases discovered, where students were found selling illegal drugs in schools of Punjab, India. After that, it was made mandatory for all schools in Punjab to educate children about illegal drugs, their effects, and punishments of selling them. As a result, drug trafficking was significantly reduced by 50% in schools of Punjab. In conclusion, genetics doesn't play any role in children becoming criminals and by taking appropriate steps it is possible to stop children from becoming criminals.