Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

People have distinct views about advertising. Some individuals believe that advertising influences us to purchase stuff that we do not necessitate, while others think advertisements inform us about modern products that might improve our lives. This essay will discuss why I think advertising stimulates us to buy unnecessary items. First of all, advertisements can be manipulative. They can influence us to obtain products that we already possess or things that will hardly enhance our lives. For instance, I have seen several relatives who were convinced by advertisements and buying new electronic devices, such as smartphones, even though they already had one working perfectly at home. Furthermore, it is common to watch television advertisements that motivate us to purchase risky products like alcohol, which is known for being unhealthy for our bodies and perilous for drivers. Therefore, advertisements can encourage consumers to accumulate things and buy products that can jeopardize their lives. In addition, advertisements can negatively impact people’s decision-making. Because advertisements use role models, it is easier for individuals to be persuaded. For instance, it is usual to see in social media advertisements in which famous figures, such as singers and athletes, try to convince us to buy clothes that might not be comfortable for our bodies or consume food with high levels of sugar. Moreover, if consumers can not afford a product that influencers are utilizing, then they can feel excluded and frustrated. Hence, advertising can change our perception and values as consumers. In summary, because advertising can pressure our decisions and manipulate us, I believe it induces us to buy trivial products that companies want us to have instead of substantial things in our lives.