Some people think that advertising aimed at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, there is a common belief that ads aimed at children should not be allowed and this seems to be an increasingly common trend in many parts of the world. From my perspective, even though those ads can be good to a certain extent, I believe that they should be banned since they do more harm than good. On the one hand, advertising plays an integral role in the economy could be plausible to some degree. In other words, without advertisement, some companies will suffer from an economic depression, which is a driving force behind an employees’ cut. Therefore, the unemployment rate will be on the increase, which is a breeding ground for social chaos. This may act as a precursor to not only an increase in the wealth gap but also a financial burden on the government. However, advertising and marketing messages are inundating children and teens and significantly contributing to some of the biggest problems facing teens today. On the other hand, there is a direct connection between a society’s levels of exposure to advertising and the level of consumption. In fact, children may suffer from frequent exposure to advertisements that their idols endorse the products. Taking the underdeveloped country as a salient example, there is greater exposure to alcohol advertising, which give rise to an increase in drinking among underage youth. Another compelling factor is that advertisements tend to be unrealistic and give a false impression of how the children would be or what will happen when they buy the product. In other words, there are numerous products that can pose a threat to children although they are advertised to be good for children. Therefore, this is a testament to a ban in the ads aimed at children. In conclusion, despite the fact that if there are no ads for children, the government can face social chaos, I believe that those ads should be banned.