In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study aboard. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

One of the conspicuous trends of today’s modern world is a colossal upsurge of learning in universities abroad thanks to the ubiquity state-of-art of technology,globalisation and modernisation.Though, it offers numerous advantages on the contrary disadvantages of this can’t be ignored. To begin with,in recent times innovations in technology has made the life of people comfortable and convenient. Further, the cultural barrier has decreased dramatically due to globalisation. Moreover,improvement in the country’s GDP and opportunities abroad has opened the doors for locals to avail themselves of the chance of completing their study abroad. For instance, a survey conducted by the Indian Institute of Technology, Ranchi,reveals that the number of students migrating from the north region has increased to about 33%.Indeed, mobile phones and the penetration of the internet have decreased hesitation among parents regarding sending their children to a foreign land for higher education. Moreover, scholarship from world-class universities leads to broadening horizons in the terms of employment. Secondly, India is a multicultural nation and the middle-aged generation here is a very traditional and conservative society as their children migrate abroad emotionally it’s quite a tough situation for them., Moreover westernised nations have a different cultural background so some students may suffer from cultural shock and sometimes it may lead to mental health problems in the long term. For example, a survey conducted by Oxford University revealed chances of depression and other mental disorders may increase due to the differences in the culture of the two different nations.So, both public and private organisations should frame certain policies which help children to settle in a different place easily. In a nutshell,in today’s neck throat competitive world we just can’t hold our kids in the terms of graduation or higher studies. Though the advantages of studying abroad overweigh the disadvantages family’s support is also important if the child suffers from any problem it should be taken seriously.