Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Opinions of people are divided over organisations advertising themselves through sports. This essay will not only discuss both sides of this argument but also will answer why I think that merits outweigh the demerits. To start with, there are several disadvantages of companies promoting themselves through sports. Firstly, the focus of players get diverted as too much money in sports becomes a distraction for players. There are many players, who come from humble economic backgrounds and getting too much money early in their career may reduce their focus on the game. For example, there are many Cricket leagues promoted by business-houses, but it is resulting in young players tweaking their skills towards only the shorter formats of the game instead of the longer formats. On the other hand, I think that without the financial support of the companies sports can not survive. To begin, ad campaigns are a great way to increase the reach of sports, so that the game can be followed by the masses. It also helps budding athletes to earn money, which is vital for their sustainability in sports and playing it for longer without thinking about earning wages through other means. For example, a recent study by Time magazine revealed that non-government entities have spent more than thrice of what the Indian government did on sports during the last 5 years, which is a major reason behind the success of our athletes in the Tokyo Olympics. To conclude, too much money poured by companies through publicity can result in the diversion of the focus of players but I believe that, this is helping immensely by taking the game to a wider audience and by creating additional livelihood options for players. Hence, sports advertisements by organisations is a magic bullet for games as well as players.