It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society.

Nowadays, the impact of mass telecommunication on the daily lives of the public does not go unnoticed. One major benefit is how easier it has become to access real-time information with technology. On the downside, media is not always a trustworthy source of information, which may ended up misleading people. This essay will discuss both the aforementioned gain and loss of living in a media-dominated era of civilisation. First of all, the biggest advantage, which is easily observed in day-to-day scenarios, is the efficiency of how news can travel. Thus, people can discover recent incidents from opposite parts of the world, because the existence of telecommunication satellites makes it possible for information to be broadcasted real-time. For instance, the emerging cases of coronavirus in Beijing back in 2019 has raised alerts on global health within hours of being discovered. Nevertheless, over-reliance towards media may impose false sense of reliability. It has been observed that, many journalism articles are vague, not factual and sometimes highly opinionated. Likewise, broadcasts in television can be laced with false information for the sake of popularity and money. Furthermore, many are overusing the internet as a main source of general information. Hence, people easily believe what they read without cross-checking the facts which may be detrimental in some circumstances. As an illustration, in Australia back in 2018, a mother forced fed her son with foods that she knew her child is allergic to while believing an online suggestion that allergy is a façade that can be cured, not a life-threatening medical condition. In conclusion, the influence of modern telecommunication is rapidly progressing on the public’s activities. Although it is fortunate to be able to access data efficiently anytime and anywhere, over-dependency could be harmful due to the possibility of misguidances.