Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Our life is filled with advertisements. You could see ads wherever you are, such as posters in shopping malls, commercial buildings, led screens in transportaion stations and sticks in elevators or even when you are in bathrooms! Advertisements are truly important for sales. But I totally disagree with the idea that it doesn't reflect the real needs of the society. On one hand, advertisements will make people be familar with the products unconsciously. With the intense exposure of the advertisments, the desire to shop will be inspired. People will be curious about what kind of product it is and why it becomes so popular. And the behaviour will spread widely so that people around will do the same thing to follow the trend. But the curiousity buying will help with the sales at the beginning period. On the other hand, only the high quality and real need of a product will keep some earnest customers. Maybe advertisements will bring some customers to buy the promoted item for the first time because of curiousity, but then they will share with friends about the quality and feelling about whether or not it deserves the price. Only a high quality and useful functions will make tpositive comments spreaded thus to attract more people and remain old customers. In conclusion, advertisements is a way to making products be well known and attract people who want a try. It is high quality and practical use combing to shape the real need of a product thus to promote its sales for a long period.