Healthcare should not be provided for free regardless of a person's income. The health of an individual is in their own hands. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The notion of providing healthcare based on a person’s income is one I do not agree with. Although a person’s health is their own responsibility, basic healthcare needs to be made available to the public. I do not believe in a free healthcare system, but instead, one which is subsidized by the government, thereby protecting the middle and impoverished sections of humanity, whilst at the same time providing equal and fair treatment to the wealthy. To begin with, in many developing countries there are many people living below the poverty line, who are unable to buy basic medicine for treating even the simplest of problems. The main reason for this is the fact that many people are uneducated, and are working low-paying jobs. For example, in Moldova, The rationalization of duplicated specialized services, therefore, remains a key challenge facing the health system. Other challenges include health workforce shortages (particularly in rural areas) and improving equity in financing and access to care by reducing out-of-pocket (OOP) payments. Secondly, my opinion is further bolstered by the factor that the good health of working employees defines the growth of the nation as employment sectors are largely responsible for proliferating the economy of the country. In this modern and hectic lifestyle, people are working relentlessly in various sectors such as education, health, agriculture, and information technology, as a consequence, the productivity of these areas leads to the development of the nation. Henceforth, to produce a healthy workforce for the betterment of the country, it is important for the government to provide healthcare facilities. The free medical coverage for the native people of the USA serves as the best example of this approach. In conclusion, while everyone is responsible for keeping themselves fit, in my perspective, the provision of medical subsidies by the government is vital not only for the financially poor people but also for the working professionals to uplift the economy of the country.