In some countries, the role of a mother differs in some ways from the role of a father. Why do you think these differences exist? How might parental roles develop in the future?

It is true that in several countries, differences regarding parental roles can be obviously witnessed, which are possibly attributed to both internal and external factors. However, I strongly believe that these distinctions would be erased in foreseeable future with the rise in equality movement. The variation in men and women distributions within a family derive from differing innate traits and obsolete prejudices on genders. Given that men are born forceful and aggressive, they undoubtedly could provide physical protection for the family. By contrast, the gentle and sensitive manners of women help tight the emotional bonds among family members. Moreover, when it comes to a child’s upbringing, fathers tend to express their love via action as opposed to mothers, who might offer sentimental support. Besides, discriminating prejudices that advocate a masculine-driven society also hold accountable for inequal household divisions. In many Asian countries, women ’s role is taken for granted and they are discouraged to get a job like men. Rather they reluctantly sacrifice their career fulfilling domestic duty and fostering their offspring. Besides, women xenophobia in the form of gender wage gap is predominating the workplace. Even worse, many companies only recruit men for managerial positions while refusing to employ women simply because they carry maternal leave. In recent years, however, the roles of mothers and fathers have become interchangeable owing to various changes in society. The ever-increasing awareness of gender equality has forced companies to strike a balance between male and females employees. And this gives rise to working mothers, who share the financial burden with the father. Equally important, it is socially acceptable that the father leave the jobs to spend more time looking after children and doing in-house duty. In light of this, I advocate that this household structure will inevitably replace the traditional one and become the norm in the long run. In conclusion,­ changes in parental roles are the result of equality movement and I believe this development is, by all means, a positive trend, ushering in an egalitarian society.