Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Some citizens believe that prices should be raised to counter the excessive sugar content in various foods and beverages. In my opinion, this proposal may have a certain influence, but additional improvements would result in larger progress. To begin with, making high-sugar products more expensive can encourage people to eat healthier. If the prices of these products rise to the point which consumers can no longer afford, they may shift to healthier and more economical alternatives. For example, instead of a strawberry-flavored bottle which costs three times as much as a carton of fresh strawberries, consumers may absolutely choose the less expensive ones that can also satisfy a sugar craving. As a result, many health issues such as diabetics, heart disease,... will be declined in the future. Moreover, other superior solutions can be applied to solve the problem. First, the government should raise people's health awareness since they are at an early age by providing nutritious meals at school as well as at home. As a result, sugary drinks and products are less prevalent in society than they are in countries like the United States, where the culture revolves around fast food, soda, and packaged meals. In addition, more programs, billboards and banners promoting healthy eating and the caution of sugar overuse’s detrimental effects on our health should be available. Therefore, people will be more aware when they decide to buy a sugary product. In conclusion, compared to more long-term solutions, the temporary and generally ineffectual method given by boosting prices is not recommended. Consequently, governments must have foresight and communicate this to the entire public.