In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In this day and age, it is an undeniable fact that the number of overweight people is on the rise all over the world. Even though, there are some major issues caused by this adverse trend, I believe that a number of steps can be taken to address this problem. This worrying trend can be attributable to three main causes. One of the main reasons is the fact that the high-fat, high-calorie diet of consistent unhealthy food is increasingly pervasive due to the proliferation of fast food outlets. This kind of diet can greatly deteriorate one's physical health and result in addiction-like behaviour. Another repercussion is that with the pace of modern world, which leaves little time for a formal lunch break, prepackaged meals and the convenience of fast food service are much preferred. It is also clearly alarming that ready-to-eat food with unreliable ingredients is now available at most supermarkets. To get to the problem of this dilemma, the government should take action and impose a higher tax on junk food. To some extent, money is often a big motivation. Therefore, product demands would be lower in correspondence to the price hike. Adding a tax on to the price would be a step towards forcing parents to teach children about the value of a healthy diet. A more feasible approach would be to subsidize farmers who provide real food instead of food that will ultimately lead them to obesity and a life on medication. All things considered, we could not disregard the quick, cheap service that fast food chains offer. Only after finding ways to integrate good food choices into the daily lives of our fellow citizens can we see a lasting change.