Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays smoke is referred to as the most hazardous to our health, and authorities have to interfere in a way that cigarettes and similars must be banned. I wholeheartedly agree with this statement, and in the following paragraphs, I will explain the reasons why no one should incentivize this habit. First of all, medicals research already has proof that smoking habit is one of main cause of cancer around the world. However, apparently many people have ignored those facts and started smoke anyway. People who is fighting against stress, financial issues or even working in a bad environment, might find relief in consume those substances. Nicotine, for instance, is one of the substances that keep people addicted even though they want to quit, therefore people start developing serious health problems before they can stop smoke. Secondly, smokers have more chances to develop other diseases, such as obesity and diabetes. Usually, individuals who have the habit of smoke do not practice sports because they have less oxygen in their bodies and always feel tired. As a result, they are more sedentary, and this situation increases the risk of has other dangerous illnesses unrelated with smoke. Finally, the health care system will have more expenses to keep these patients healthier. For example, the medical authorities could address these costs to deeply research how people could deal better with stressful situations that make them start smoking. Moreover, they could create new programs to help smokers give up tobacco products. Therefore, people will learn new ways to cope with issues and keep their mental health. To conclude, smoking could cause many problems to individuals' health, and it is still a global problem. Governments should take action and banned all kinds of cigarettes, but because it is very addictive, they need first to guarantee mental support for those who want to stop and create more research to help people do not even start this terrible habit.