The death penalty is the best way to control and prevent serious crimes. To what extend do you agree?

It is commonly believed that criminals must be given death sentence in order to stop grave criminal activities. I agree with the given statement and there are two reasons why I think so and they will be explained in the next few paragraphs. To begin with, death punishment will make people discipline in their life. It is a well-known fact that communities indulging in minor crimes in urban and rural areas will live in the fear in the eyes of law and would give up their bad habbits of petty crimes. Although the development of this kind of fear depends on person to person it would certainly make the society crime free after a period of time. For instance, hands are chopped off if a person is found to be guilty in the court of law in many nations. In short, stringent criminal laws are essential to make the country safer to live. Secondly, economic progress is faster in countries if there is no crime in the environmnet. Undoubtedly, many economies around the world have become super power recently in the modern era because of lack of anti social activities. To illustarte, Japan has achieved the highest literacy rate in the world because of strict laws pertaining to crime. Therefore, economic progression is only possible when there are no criminal elements in the nation. In conclusion, I strongly affirm that an ideal way to prevent crime in the country is by implementing the extreme anti criminal rules and the development of nation is largely effected by its crime free society.