tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures amd the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that the tourism industry is a major resource for the worldwide economy. However, some people think that this industry can cause a negative impact on local cultures and their environment. I highly disagree with the second point of view. In my opinion,the travel industry helps to popularize traditions, cultural attractions and contributes to the preservation of the cultural heritage of a country. Firstly, nowadays national and local museums are more visited by tourists. Consequently, If a great amount of travellers didn’t visit that kind of cultural attractions, they would be bankrupts. It means that the more cultural destinations are closed, the more local cultures are damaged. For example, Georgia has a great cultural heritage like local villages where they make traditional home wine and national dishes and their main living source is tourist’s money. Also, tourism can help to evolve local areas and bring a new life to the long-forgotten cultural centres. Moreover, it is a well known fact that if not travelers, who are highly interested in different cultural destinations like local villages, those rural places would be emptied because of the lack of money. Secondly, it is a stereotype that tourists usually leave a lot of garbage behind. The research has shown that citizens are the main reason for polluted local areas and tourists are more careful about the cultural heritage of other countries. In conclusion, tourism plays a vital role in regional development and helps to keep alive a lot of cultural destinations, which contributes to saving different traditions