Some people say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People travel to understand the different culture which exists in different parts of the world and the easiest way to experience them is through the tourist attractions in that place. There is a heated discussion on whether such tourism projects are conserving or degrading the traditions of a place. Further insight into the pros and cons of the latter discussion is required to arrive at a proper conclusion. The advantages of showcasing native attractions aimed at tourists are to be discussed first. When the artform or crafts of a country is displayed in front of a foreign and native crowd, the art and crafts are preserved and carried on to the next generation nevertheless, it can even spur interest in at least some of the viewers to further study about that craft. Although preserving the art is important, it is equally important to support the artist, the money the artist receives from performing is great support. For instance, people from all over the world travel to India to experience its cultural diversity, as a result, there is a huge amount of population working in the tourism sector and crafts from coir, bamboo, clay, etc are mainly focusing on a foreign customer. Kathakali, Kathak, are old dance forms that are still performed only because there is demand for them in tourism sectors. Although, there are many advantages they are often diminished due to the commercialization of the tourism sector, thus adversely affect the cultural history of a place. Hotels and holiday companies often charge hefty fees from tourists but the service provided would be cheap and products sold are often fake. The people who perform are often inexperienced and are not having any background in that field, as a result, the original tradition is modified and its value is degraded. For example, Kathakali a dance form which used to happen overnight is now being performed for just 5 minutes, similar is the case for ayurvedic treatments which lasted for months now is done in a day, even worst is the market for counterfeit crafts which deals from simple coir products to crystals. In conclusion, looking at the advantages and disadvantages, I believe that converting traditional values into tourism provides a great opportunity for the natives and will help in preserving the culture, however strict monitoring is required from the authority to make sure that the cultural essence is not lost.